Fri 16 Sep

10:30

Material Cultures, London

Constructive Land

Material Cultures is a not-for-profit organisation which brings together design, research and action towards a post carbon built environment. We work at the intersection of architectural design, engineering, systems thinking, digital technologies and material science. We seek to share our experience of establishing ourselves as an experimental studio which operates across practice and academia. We will do this through expanding on our work across newbuild developments, research into the viability of bioregional manufacturing and expanding on how we build experimental, collaborative design and build structures, with a particular focus on our ongoing research project – Constructive Land.  

The British landscape is subject to a multitude of pressures, many of which, such as farming and forestry, are considered to be in direct conflict with one another. Failed economic initiatives and agricultural policies have fuelled environmental degradation, growing levels of social inequity, and competing views of the land and its use. The future of a decarbonised built environment now depends on previously disconnected industries and seemingly conflicting agendas working together to facilitate systemic change. 
 
Developing the strategies and technology to enable the supply and production of biobased construction materials requires the reimagining of land use at scale. Our research project Constructive Land speculates on a future land use model that is no longer confined to a risk averse market determined by the fossil fuel economy. It speculates on a mosaic alternative to landscape management in which arable land is woven alongside short rotation forestry, coppice, and shelterbelts of broadleaved species. With this vision in mind, we will re-evaluate and challenge the standardization-driven forms of construction timber through the production of prototypical and experimental structures built in the summer of 2022; drawing from the materials of our woodlands today and speculating on the materials which could be cultivated from our landscapes in the decades to come. 
 
By questioning the nature of a ‘productive’ woodland, we are investigating the different benefits and outcomes of woodland management, from climate resilience to increased biodiversity and carbon sequestration. Productive woodlands have the potential to source innovative new low-embodied carbon materials which could transform the built environment, whilst also building regional supply chains across the country. The recalibration of our landscapes away from extractive practices towards a new model of regenerative land management that fosters regenerative resources, provides an exciting opportunity for construction innovation and offers to reconcile the tensions between land use, land economy and the need for new housing. 
 
Drawing on this ongoing research conducted as the recipients of the SOM European Research Prize 2021 alongside MArch students at the University of the Arts London this work will also explore the regulatory, industrial and cultural limitations of change within the built environment, forestry and farming today, and looks to connect these disparate industries through dialogue. The act of building itself serves as a teaching tool: the structures will be developed and designed collaboratively with our 30 MArch students over a 7 week period this summer. Our research will demonstrate the opportunities that are emerging from a more ecological approach to the production of materials we use in the built environment, and speculate on the profound impact of these on our future practices.

Material Cultures Foto

© Material Cultures

Material Cultures Drawing

© Material Cultures

Summer Islam

Summer Islam is a founding director of Material Cultures, a not-for-profit organization which brings together design, research and action towards a post-carbon built environment. Summer co-runs “Construction in Detail” on the MArch course in the Spatial Studies department at Central Saint Martins, University of the Arts London. Her work is focused on the holistic integration of systems thinking, construction technologies, and design. She has also taught at the Bartlett, University College London, the London Metropolitan University, the Architectural Association, and the University of Cambridge. She was previously an Associate at award-winning design practice 6a architects, and co-founded design practice Studio Abroad with George Massoud in 2014.

Fr 16 Sep

10:30

Material Cultures, London

Constructive Land

Material Cultures ist eine gemeinnützige Organisation, die Entwurf, Forschung und Maßnahmen für eine postkarbone Umwelt zusammenführt. Wir arbeiten an der Schnittstelle von architektonischem Design, Ingenieurwesen, Systemdenken, digitalen Technologien und Materialwissenschaften. Wir möchten unsere Erfahrungen mit der Etablierung eines experimentellen Studios teilen, das sowohl in der Praxis als auch im akademischen Bereich tätig ist. Zu diesem Zweck werden wir unsere Arbeit im Bereich der Neubauprojekte ausweiten, die Machbarkeit bioregionaler Produktion erforschen und die Art und Weise, wie wir experimentelle, kollaborative Design- und Baustrukturen errichten, erweitern, wobei ein besonderer Schwerpunkt auf unserem laufenden Forschungsprojekt Constructive Land liegt.

Die britische Landschaft wird von einer Vielzahl von Akteuren genutzt, von denen viele, wie z.B. die Land- und Forstwirtschaft in einem direktem Interessenskonflikt miteinander stehen. Gescheiterte wirtschaftliche Initiativen und agrarpolitische Maßnahmen haben die Umweltzerstörung, die wachsende soziale Ungleichheit und konkurrierende Auffassungen von Land und dessen Nutzung befördert. Die Zukunft einer dekarbonisierten Umwelt hängt nun davon ab, dass bisher getrennte Branchen und scheinbar widersprüchliche Agenden zusammenarbeiten, um einen systemischen Wandel zu ermöglichen.

Die Entwicklung von Strategien und Technologien, die die Bereitstellung und Produktion von biobasierten Baumaterialien ermöglichen, erfordert eine neue Konzeption der Landnutzung in großem Maßstab. Unser Forschungsprojekt Constructive Land spekuliert über ein zukünftiges Landnutzungsmodell, das nicht mehr auf einen risikoscheuen Markt beschränkt ist, welcher von einer auf fossile Brennstoffe ausgerichteten Wirtschaft bestimmt wird. Constructive Land schlägt eine mosaikartige Alternative zur Landschaftsbewirtschaftung vor, bei der Ackerland mit Kurzumtriebsplantagen, Nieder- und Laubwäldern verwoben wird. Mit dieser Vision im Hinterkopf werden wir die standardisierten Formen von Bauholz durch die Herstellung von prototypischen und experimentellen Strukturen, die im Sommer 2022 gebaut werden, neu bewerten und in Frage stellen; wir werden aus den Materialien unserer heutigen Wälder schöpfen und Überlegungen anstellen, welche Materialien in den kommenden Jahrzehnten in unseren Landschaften angebaut werden könnten.

Indem wir das Wesen eines „produktiven“ Waldes hinterfragen, untersuchen wir die verschiedenen Vorteile und Ergebnisse der Waldbewirtschaftung, von der Klimaresistenz bis hin zu erhöhter biologischer Vielfalt und Kohlenstoffbindung. Produktive Wälder haben das Potenzial, innovative und kohlenstoffarme Materialien zu liefern, die die gebaute Umwelt verändern könnten, während regionale Lieferketten im ganzen Land geschaffen werden. Die Neukalibrierung unserer Landschaften, weg von extraktiven Praktiken, hin zu einem neuen Modell der regenerativen Landbewirtschaftung, das regenerative Ressourcen fördert, bietet einen untersuchenswerten Anlass für Bauinnovationen. Sie eröffnet die Möglichkeit, die Spannungen zwischen Landnutzung, Landökonomie und dem Bedarf an neuem Wohnraum in Einklang zu bringen.

Auf der Grundlage dieser laufenden Forschungsarbeiten, die im Rahmen des SOM European Research Prize 2021 zusammen mit MArch-Studenten der University of the Arts London durchgeführt wurden, wird diese Arbeit auch die regulatorischen, industriellen und kulturellen Grenzen des Wandels in der gebauten Umwelt, der Forst- und Landwirtschaft untersuchen und versuchen, diese unterschiedlichen Branchen in einem Dialog miteinander zu verbinden. Das Bauen selbst dient als Studienobjekt: Die Strukturen werden in Zusammenarbeit mit unseren 30 MArch-Studenten über einen Zeitraum von sieben Wochen in diesem Sommer entwickelt und entworfen. Unsere Forschung wird die Möglichkeiten aufzeigen, die sich aus einem ökologischeren Ansatz bei der Herstellung von Materialien, die wir in der gebauten Umwelt verwenden, ergeben und Annahmen über die tiefgreifenden Auswirkungen dieser Herangehensweise auf unsere Baupraxis treffen.

Material Cultures Foto

© Material Cultures

Material Cultures Drawing

© Material Cultures

Summer Islam

Summer Islam ist Gründungsdirektorin von Material Cultures, einer gemeinnützigen Organisation, die Design, Forschung und Maßnahmen für eine kohlenstoffarme gebaute Umwelt zusammenbringt. Summer leitet den Kurs „Construction in Detail“ im MArch-Studiengang der Abteilung Spatial Studies am Central Saint Martins, University of the Arts London, mit. Der Schwerpunkt ihrer Arbeit liegt auf der ganzheitlichen Integration von Systemdenken, Bautechnologien und Design. Sie hat auch am Bartlett, University College London, der London Metropolitan University, der Architectural Association und der University of Cambridge unterrichtet. Zuvor war sie Mitarbeiterin des preisgekrönten Designbüros 6a architects und gründete 2014 zusammen mit George Massoud das Designbüro Studio Abroad.